Skip to content

Stop Waiting for Step Two

11/26/2013
tags: , , ,

IMG_0841I just go back form a great trip to Nashville for Youth Specialties’ National Youth Workers Convention. It was a great, rejuvenating, and fun-filled trip with some great college friends and some new ones. This is my 4th year going to this convention and it seems like it gets better and better every time. Not only is NYWC very spiritually uplifting, but I always end up leaving with great ideas to take back to the youth that I work with. This year I had one takeaway that really outweighed the rest.

One of the big room speakers, Mark Batterson, said something like, “We are too afraid to take the first step until God reveals to us the second step.” We don’t like taking that first step without know the second because that requires real faith. It honestly reminds me of the movies Field of Dreams. In the movie, Ray Kinsella hears a voice that says, “If you build it, he will come.” so after talking to his wife, he built a baseball field and these famous dead baseball players show up out of the corn field to play. It took Ray a huge amount of faith to do that not knowing what would really happen. It would be easier for Ray if the baseball players showed up first and then he decided to build the field.

Just like Abraham in the Bible was told to pack up all he had and go to a new land that God had promised him. All God told him to do was go. Abraham was not told where. He had faith that God would come through on His promise. He didn’t sit and wait to hear what step two would be, he went only knowing step one.

So the question is, what is God calling you to that you are too nervous to start because you just don’t know what will happen next? God calls us all to be a Christian, but then has a great plan for our lives and most of the time its something big and unexpected. Something like building a huge boat to hold all the earths animals or leave our home land to a land that has been promised, or be the savior of a nation that is in slavery, or toss our nets on the other side.

My first big moment was answering the call to youth ministry by going to college for youth ministry. I left behind the plan of Computer Science, and under great scrutiny from my parents and teachers, I went into ministry. I didn’t know where that would have me end up, but I trusted that God would lead me there.

Recently I’m not sure that I could say I have that amount of trust in most areas of my life. I don’t think my wife and I are being called right now to have kids, but if we were, I don’t think I would have the faith do it while we are financially unstable. It’s difficult to know that God will provide. My heart says He will but so often my head gets in the way.

I trust that God has a plan for every one of us and he will reveal it to us. Sometimes he just waiting for us to listen to the first step before he gives us the second one.  We need faith and we need to show it by doing step one with out needing to wait on step two. James 2:14-17 says:

“14 What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if someone claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save them? 15 Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. 16 If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it?17 In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead.”

Show that you have faith and do what God has asked of you. He has your back just like he has mine.

[important]What are you waiting to do until God has shown you step 2?[/important]

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

