Skip to content

Dump-Truck Theology

01/20/2014

Dump-TruckHave you ever been cut off by a big dump-truck, cement mixer or 18-wheeler? You know that feeling. First think that goes through your head is usually not very church or youth group appropriate, and the second is, “I had somewhere to be and all you are going to do is slow me down!” I know the feeling. I was on my way to Panera this morning to meet with a couple of students on their day off from school and had that exact problem. I was running a little later than I wanted to and was driving down the 202 expressway when out of my rear view mirror, I see this dump truck speeding along behind me. I am pulling up to a traffic light with a decent line of cars and the traffic light had just turned green. I thought, awesome, I won’t have to wait for the light and we can just go on through. But there was one small, well rather large problem: the dump-truck.

At most traffic lights on the expressway, one lane of traffic is divided into two so people can turn right without having to wait, but it’s not a turn only lane, it’s one of those lanes that goes all the way through the intersection. At the moment there wasn’t anyone in that lane because no one wants to be ‘that guy’ and use it to pass people just for the sake of being in the lead. The dump-truck however, had a different plan of attack. I guess he didn’t want to slow down, so he quickly merged to the right and blew past the intersection. Most people who see something like that happen will not let that person into traffic once the lane ends though. As I approached the dump-truck, that at this point was at a dead stop, I must have let just a little too much space between myself and the car in front of me because he decided that he was going to take it. As the dump-truck lurched forward, I slammed on my brakes, tried my best not to partake in the first thing you do when you get cut off referenced above, and let him in. Now the speed limit on the expressway is only 40 mph (which makes me question why in the world they would call it an express-way in the first place), but this truck must have thought, “that’s just too fast for me. I’m going to go 20.”

With this extra time I had being stuck behind this massive, pebble spewing, diesel smelling behemoth, I started thinking about what did he have to do that was so much more important that he had to cut me off and drive 20 mph. Couldn’t he tell that I had important things to do? As I asked that question, it made me think, “couldn’t I tell that he had important things to do as well?” Now I have no idea where he was going or what he was planning on doing with that load of debris that was in his truck other than throw it at my car, but it would have been something that could help me in the future that I just can see yet.

I began to think about what we were talking about last night at Ignition, the Sr. High student ministry at Lenape Valley Church. We were talking about God’s plan for our lives and how sometimes we want to run the ship, but all He wants from us is to let go of the reigns. We talked about how God’s idea for our lives usually doesn’t make sense at first and it’s not until later, if ever, that we really get the big picture. Maybe this dump-truck cutting me off was just a jerk with little patience, or maybe he was sent there for a reason, maybe to get me to slow down, or think to write this article. What I do know is we need to let go of control more often and be open to the plans that God has for our everyday lives and not just the big picture stuff. We also need to remember; sometimes it might not be about God’s plan for our lives but God’s plan for someone else’s life.

Next time you get cut off and blindsided by a figurative (or literal) dump-truck take a moment to think about letting go of the reigns, stopping the rush, and letting God be in control of the little things.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/03/2014 20:48

    Hi there very nice blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Superb ..
    I will bookmark your blog and take the feeds also?
    I’m happy to find a lot of useful info right here within
    the post, we need develop more techniques in this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  2. 02/04/2014 02:36

    I simply couldn’t leave your web site before
    suggesting that I really enjoyed the usual information an individual provide to your guests?
    Is gonna be back steadily in order to inspect new posts

Leave a Reply

